Parksbird Patterns Blog

Notions: Point Turner

Posted on: June 27, 2009

point_turner

This is a very simple tool, but I use it a lot.  If you make anything that has a corner (even something as simple as a pillowcase), you need some way to push the corners out and make them sharp.  This does the trick.  It also serves as a button SHANK maker.  A button shank is the height of the thread between the button itself and the garment.  It allows for the width of the fabric with the button hole so that it is not so tight that the button hole cannot move under the button.   You would use the high shank if making a jacket or something with thick or heavy fabric and the low shank for blouses or lighter weight fabric.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Jaylah: I found your pattern for the doggy diapers online and I just wanted to let you know that they are GREAT! And your instructions were easily understand
  • jan: Thank you so much for these instructions, they are by far the best. I purchased a ruffler foot and broke it. Your instructions are way better then the
  • Sarah.: Thank you so much for the instructions and pictures! I'm going to have another go at my ruffle foot. The broken english on the back of my packaging ju

Categories